this post was submitted on 13 Jul 2023
4 points (100.0% liked)

Magic: The Gathering

989 readers
1 users here now

/c/mtg

News and discussion about Magic: The Gathering, the tabletop and digital card trading card game! Join us discussing news, tournaments, gameplay, deckbuilding, strategy, lore, and more.

Rules

  1. Please show common courtesy and be kind to all
  2. Please keep posts related to the card game

Resources and Related Communities

/r/magicTCG

Trans MTG Discord Server

/r/traaagicthegathering

founded 4 years ago
MODERATORS
 

With Gandalf on the field, Lagrella enters the battlefield and takes two permanents from each player because she is a legendary creature and she is triggering a permanent (herself).

However, when she leaves the battlefield and the other creatures return, her suspended ability puts two +1/+1 counters on those creatures if they enter under your own control (i.e. if you took your own creatures and now they are returning to the field).

If Gandalf is still on the field, would those creatures get four +1/+1 counters instead? Would those creatures only get four counters if they themselves are legendary? Am I completely off the mark and those creatures only ever get two counters regardless of Gandalf?

Thanks for the help!

top 2 comments
sorted by: hot top controversial new old
[โ€“] [email protected] 2 points 1 year ago

Gandalf looks for triggered abilities that get triggered by legendary permanents. He doesn't care if the creators of the triggered abilities are Legends.

Lagrella enters the battlefield. She triggers her first triggered ability herself. Gandalf sees that she is a legend, so it's doubled.

The second ability is also a triggered ability. When those exiled things come back, add the counters. Gandalf doesn't care that Lagrella, a legend, was the creator of the trigger. Only that the thing that triggered the triggered ability is a legend.

So if it is, double the triggers e.g. in counters on that legendary creature.

It doesn't work on opponents creatures. And doesn't work on your non legends.

[โ€“] [email protected] 1 points 1 year ago

[lagrella the magpie]